Indiaherald Group of Publishers P LIMITED

close save
crop image
Mon, Jun 17, 2019 | Last Updated 6:45 am IST

Menu &Sections


6 Women Candidates elected in Telangana Assembly 2018

6 Women Candidates elected in Telangana Assembly 2018
6 Women Candidates elected in Telangana Assembly 2018

Hyderabad sources reported the representation of women in the 119 member Telangana Assembly has dropped to 5% against the 7.5% in the dissolved House. Accordingly only six women have made it to the Assembly in the elections held on December 7. Previously there were nine members in the previous Assembly from 2014.

As per report three women candidates each of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Congress were elected this time and three of them come from tribal communities. Meanwhile Padma Devender Reddy, who was Deputy Speaker in the dissolved House, has been re-elected from Medak constituency. Furthermore TRS candidate for Khanapur Assembly constituency Rekha Naik a tribal and Gongidi Sunitha Reddy from Alair also retained their seats.

6 Women Candidates elected in Telangana Assembly 2018

Reportedly the Congress party's D. Anasuya defeated Minister Azmeera Chandulal from Mulug constituency (reserved for Scheduled Tribe). Moreover Former Minister in undivided Andhra Pradesh Sabitha Indra Reddy was also elected from Maheshwaram. B. Haripriya of the Telugu Desam party was elected from Yellandu. Further the TRS, which came under criticism for not giving representation to women in the previous cabinet, had fielded only four women candidates.

6 Women Candidates elected in Telangana Assembly 2018
5/ 5 - (1 votes)
Add To Favourite
More from author
PM Modi confident in making Bharat a 5 Trillion Dollar Economy
Indian team powerful than Pakistan team: Kapil Dev
Nationwide strike on June 17 announced by IMA
Chandrababu Naidu to do security checking in airport like an ordinary man
India Vs Pakistan World Cup Manchester Pitch Report
New Chairman for AP CRDA appointed
PM Modi & Imran Khan exchanged pleasantries at SCO Summit
Bengaluru Transport Department hikes students bus fare
Expectations from Union Budget 2019
Trump gets embarrassed by tweet!
Journalist abused and cops urinate on him!
Priyanka Chopra gets UNICEF award!
Google CEO Sundar Pichai on World cup final!
Elephant rescued from Begging & Marriage parades
Will Chandrababu Naidu ask apology for not fulfilling 2014 Poll promises? Roja
Face-off between PM Modi & Pakistan PM Imran Khan at SCO Summit
Facebook expanding ad breaks in 4 Indian languages
Petition filed against former AP CM Chandrababu Naidu in HC
US ready to help Indias defense system
AP CM Jagan will bring changes in Education domain
Doctors protest in WB seeking safety and security
Sundar Pichai feels India & England will lock horns in the World Cup Finals
Amazon Flex enables individuals to create their own schedule delivering Amazon packages
Pawan Kalyan in mood to attend TANA 2019 Conference at Washington
RK Roja attacks TDP's Values
YCP MLA who hit a motorcyclist by car never bothers to take the injured to the hospital - Faces criticism!
Rain arrives in coastal Karnataka and it brings a huge relief to people
Sexual Harassment case filed by Tanushree Dutta against Nana Patekar is closed!
Telangana Doctor attacked by the mob - But after attack, it was proved wrong with CCTV that he didn't harass!
PM Modi arrived in Bishkek for SCO summit
AdiGroup still interested to form a partnership with Etihad to operate Jet Airways
Thiruvananthapuram restaurant pulled up for serving unhygienic food to Techies
AP CM explained how Leader of the House should act with Constitutional Powers
Why Nara Lokesh's Chamber in Secretariat dejected by Ministers in Jagan's Cabinet?
Sinkhole suddenly appeared on the road at Madhya Kailash junction in Chennai
Two New Judges appointed to AP High Court
About the author

Bharath has been the knowledge focal point for the world, As Darvin evolution formula End is the Start ... Bharath again will be the Knowledge Focal Point to the whole world. Want to hold the lamp and shine light on the path of greatness for our country Bharath.