Indiaherald Group of Publishers P LIMITED

close save
crop image
Thu, Oct 24, 2019 | Last Updated 7:11 am IST

Menu &Sections


Speaker of AP Assembly elected

Speaker of AP Assembly elected
Speaker of AP Assembly elected

Amaravathi sources stated that Tammineni Sitharam (64) was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday. Meanwhile protem Speaker S Appala Naidu conducted the election procedure. Thirty MLAs of YSR Congress Party proposed Tammineni's name after which he was formally announced as the new speaker. Furthermore after his election, Chief Minister YS jagan formally invited him to the Speaker's Chair and the protem speaker handed over the charge to him as the new Speaker of the AP Assembly.

Speaker of AP Assembly elected

Reportedly Tammineni Sitharam a BC leader will be the third Speaker from the Srikakulam district to be elected as speaker. Earlier Thangi Satyanarayana and K Pratibha Bharathi were elected as the speakers of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh Assembly. He is a law graduate by qualification, Tammineni started was a director of a sugar factory in his hometown, before taking the plunge into politics. After winning his second stint in 1985, Sitaram lost the 1989 election. However, he won two back-to-back elections in 1994 and 1999.

Moreover after losing 2004 elections, Sitaram joined the PRP founded by actor chiranjeevi. Apparently he lost again in 2009 and Sitaram then switched over to YSRCP but had to face another defeat in 2014. Perhaps YSRCP chief YS jagan reposed faith in Sitaram inspite of him losing three successive elections and fielded him as party candidate from Amudalavalasa in 2019 elections, which Sitaram won and regained his seat.

Speaker of AP Assembly elected
5/ 5 - (1 votes)
Add To Favourite
About the author

Bharath has been the knowledge focal point for the world, As Darvin evolution formula End is the Start ... Bharath again will be the Knowledge Focal Point to the whole world. Want to hold the lamp and shine light on the path of greatness for our country Bharath.